Where in the hell am I?

November 25, 2009

Ch-ch-ch-changes

The only certain thing to my job is uncertainty.

I feel like I jinxed myself telling people I was going to be doing a 3-week data recovery at Fort Hood. Less than 24 hours later, my boss comes in and tells me that the plans have changed. Now, I’ll only be going to Fort Hood for the first week. Then, back out to East Texas for another pipeline survey.

Just when there was a glimmer of hope at work, it’s snatched away from me. As I’ve said a lot recently, I do love my job, but I’ve hated the work I’ve been doing for a while now. I’m happy to have a job doing what I went to school for, and I work for a really good company. But the endless surveys and report writing are really wearing on me. It’s even harder when you know there’s a cool project going on, and you’re not a part of it.

I’ve always said that I’ll go where they tell me to go and do what they ask me to do. I’m being sent on the survey because they need a solid, experienced person to help out the field director, so getting sent is a positive commentary on my work and the way my bosses feel about me. But still, I’m disappointed, and I’m going to have to try really hard not to let that show while I’m out on the survey.

At least I’m done with the massive report, and drinking a beer in an airport bar as I travel to visit my family for Thankgsiving.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Silver is the New Black Theme. Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 702 other followers

