Where in the hell am I?

October 1, 2013

My abstract for SAA14 Blogging Archaeology panel

Filed under: archaeology — Tags: , , , , , , — John @ 7:39 pm

I don’t remember what fancy title I gave my paper, but here’s the abstract.
I’d love to hear feedback, questions, and anecdotes from y’all about my vague notions presented here, as this will help me with the final presentation and ideally provide me supporting anecdotal material and references!

“More agencies, cultural resources management firms, and individual archaeologists are now using social media for promotion and outreach. However, the use of microblogging platforms such as Twitter and Instagram can also help in building a “community of archaeologists” that goes beyond typical job networking.

This community aspect is likely just as important, particularly for younger working archaeologists and those still in school. People can commiserate, seek support, share advice and suggestions, and forge friendships outside of a professional setting and beyond the field. It is also a way for archaeologists to join forces to discuss and act on serious issues affecting them, such as the recent fight concerning the use of volunteers and unpaid interns, known as #freearchaeology.

Microblogging also allows for a different perspective from the common top-down, expert, official narrative. Field and lab techs are able to share their photos and their opinions. Finally, it gives the public a glimpse into the daily lives of archaeologists and the challenges we face, in essence adding a different element of “humanity” to archaeology.”

1 Comment »

  1. John I this great. As an archaeologist in training, I have learned more about networking, resources, research, history, and fellow archaeologists in this media. I wonder why many more of my younger classmates and colleagues don’t take advantage of this. Your right “community” is essential. Remember, the medical,nursing,anthropology professions are sister disciplines. I even learned more about bones and pathophysiology and medical history than from my own nursing associations, particulary from Katy Myers @bonesdonotlie. I have to twitter them historical research just so they understand where a specific disease may have had origins. The beauty of this media and the beauty of archaeology.

    Comment by Drienne Tamayo @SW_NM_Arch — October 1, 2013 @ 7:52 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Silver is the New Black Theme. Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 702 other followers

