Where in the hell am I?

September 16, 2010

Projects and secrets

Filed under: archaeology, archeology, survey, Texas — Tags: , , , , — John @ 10:44 pm

I looked online today to see if I could actually mention what the project we were working on in Woodville was related to. I wanted to use the information in the report, rather than just say “connecting an unspecified construction project…” but I wasn’t sure that the details were public knowledge.
It turns out they are, and so I can say that we were surveying for a pipeline related to a proposed biomass power plant (one of the green energy options being explored in Texas).
This is not always (or usually) the case in CRM, and one reason I tend not to go into details about the purpose of the projects I’m working on, or even exact locations. Since environmental clearance is (hopefully) part of the pre-construction process, clients might not want word of the project known, in case it gets cancelled, or to avoid getting landowners excited. We’re often told not to show any of our maps to landowners.
In other cases, the proposed undertaking might be rather controversial, and so the less we say the better. A few years back, I worked with our natural resources people on a wind farm in South Texas. There was so much controversy (including lawsuits) that we were instructed not to wear anything with the company logo in the town we were staying in, or to mention the project at all. I’ve heard of similar situations on a huge project that my company is involved with (that I can’t really say much more about, so that I don’t draw attention to myself, although looking back I’ve probably said enough already…).
In the end, they’re often boring details anyway. But still, I feel like I need to respect the clients and maintain some confidentiality, in order to protect both my company AND my job.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

