Where in the hell am I?

April 8, 2011

Post-SAA comedown

Filed under: archaeology, archeology — Tags: , , , , , — John @ 5:50 pm

Let me explain…

First, it turns out that I’m allergic to northern California, or at least the Central Valley. I originally thought that my total lack of energy last Sunday afternoon was an epic hangover combined with lack of sleep. That was part of it, but part of the lack of sleep can be attributed to the fact that my head felt like it was stuffed full of cotton balls with the density of lead.

Then, because of all the Southwest plane leaks, my flight back to Austin ended up getting delayed before they switched me to a different flight. I was glad to get back, but the trip included an extra takeoff and landing (never good on my ears in the best of circumstances) and got me home at 1:00 am. And slept poorly.

I had emailed work to tell them I would be in late, because of the late flight. When I finally got there, I sat at my computer for an hour being completely useless, before throwing in the towel. Didn’t sleep very well again, which is unfortunate because…

I had to be at work the next morning at 7:00 am to do backhoe trenching survey in San Antonio. This ended up being an 11-hour work day, most of which I was dragging my still-allergy-addled ass through (although I did tweet a bit about it). I got home, ate, took a nap, woke up to watch TV for a while with my girlfriend, and passed back out.

Thursday and today, I was finally able to deal with writing at the office. My head has cleared to the point where my main problems are clearing the crap out of my lungs and feeling like I have swimmer’s ear. I’ve been doing most of my archaeo blogging via Twitter, because I can do it at my desk, it’s short-form, and I can be really lazy and retweet stuff from other people without comment 🙂

SO…I say all this as an explanation and an apology. I still haven’t written a full SAA wrap-up, and there’s  nonsense going on in the world of mainstream media “archaeology” that I’ve been ruminating over. Fortunately, it’s the weekend and all I have to do is some yardwork, so I should FINALLY get a chance to catch up.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

