Where in the hell am I?

August 25, 2011

Blahhhhhhhhhhhhh

Filed under: archaeology — John @ 9:40 pm

Once again, I have gone for a month without posting (and if you don’t count the link cheat, probably closer to two).
The excuses are myriad, as always, but since I’ve decided to make this mainly an archaeology blog, it can be boiled down to this: I’ve honestly just not been very interested in archaeology lately. The buzz from the SAAs has worn off, and the canceled Turkey trip really did a number on my (subconscious) psyche. I’ve found Twitter, after my initial excitement, to be mostly retweets of week-old news stories about some Roman or Egyptian shit, or even worse, numerous tweets and retweets under the #archaeology hashtag about paleontology and other forms of fossils.
As for work, well, suffice it to say that it’s not interesting enough to hold much of my attention lately. It’s also stressful because I’m having to deal with lots of old information without much time or money in the budget to refresh myself on the project and the results. We also had a somewhat major shift in approaches to artifact analysis and writeups, which is not reflected in the almost-3-year-old analysis on the site assemblage.
I’m trying to find ways to get myself excited, to make it interesting, but it’s a struggle. I did enjoy trying to find refits amongst the 500+ biface fragments and 150+ projectile point fragments (although the success was limited), but that was also something that really wasn’t accounted for in the report budget, so I’m going to end up paying for it on the back-end with less time for writing. Or, working some off the clock.
As for the field, while I did enjoy a couple of long days in San Antonio a couple of weeks back, I’m glad it’s not regular right now. In case you didn’t know, Texas is really f’n hot and dry right now. Plus, I’m having a lot of fun (outside of work) in Austin and would hate to leave that. On the other hand, a boost in income from per diem and/or possible overtime could come in handy.
Sorry to come off so negative. But i figured it was better to put something out there so readers knew I was still here, and aware of my blog, then to let it sit stale.

2 Comments »

  1. I hear ya man…work has been all survey and not too much fun lately. We are supper busy up here and all I want to do at the end of the day is relax in the hotel room. My new schedule is 8-on, 6-off so I’m trying to keep up on the blogging on the days off. Does your company let you say anything about the projects you are working on? Some behind the scenes details would be interesting to quite a few people, I think. They don’t teach you how to write reports, and the processes involved, in college.

    Comment by Chris Webster — August 26, 2011 @ 7:29 pm

  2. Somehow I found you off the 41bp627 site query on Google. I live over by Webberwood ridge along the county line of Bastrop/Travis north of fm969 a tad kind of at the top. I ‘think’ I found an old scraping tool, and some fossils with muscles and rock that looks sort of burnt.Is that possible where I live? I know I found a section of petrified wood bark and some fossils of shells etc on the bottom of it- it is as if it fell in the muck and rotted there trapping the shells. There is a dry creek that runs down the slope of the land as well. When I first moved here in 2000 it was running water at the time. Not NOW though :( I want to go dig up my woods now but it is too hot to do it.

    I googled 41bp627 images .. led to you :) I hope you are not upset I tracked you to your blog to ask you about it. I honestly feel like the earth is erupting history over here with all the heat, the clay is pulling back from rocks, and the over growth is not hard to manage to get to areas on my land I’ve never seen before in the last ten years.. Thanks in advance .. Julia I will give you more info If you email me.

    Comment by Julia — August 28, 2011 @ 6:16 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Silver is the New Black Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 608 other followers

